I like being at CCD because…

Yesterday, I took a white board, wrote “I like being at CCD because…” (using google translate to write it in Thai), and asked the people of CCD their answers. My original plan was to interview and write up a story about one more person, but I just didn’t have the time. Instead, I came up with this Humans of CCD-type photo series –  an interview of one question to ask as many people as I could. I was also planning, at first, to take photos of just the children, asking them why they like being here. After realizing that a lot of the younger children are shy, can’t speak yet, or don’t really know what’s going on because they’ve never done this before, I expanded my population to include the staff. From the kitchen staff to the IT department, from Rainbow House [1] to New Hope [2], and from the boys of Vision Home [3] to the CBR staff [4],  I tried my best to get everyone to answer this question.

Some people were stumped. Some people took inspiration from what other people wrote. Some people knew their answer immediately. Nevertheless, many answered on the same theme and their answers made me happy. I guess I’ll let you see for yourself what you think!

**Please click on each picture to see an English translated caption. The pictures are divided into sections.

Thai Version: เมื่อวานหนูเอากระดานสีขาว มาแล้วก็เขียน,”ฉันชอบอยู่ที่CCDเพราะ…” (โดยใช้ Google แปลให้), เราก็ให้คนที่ CCD ตอบ. ตอนแรกอยากสัมภาษณ์แล้วก็เขียนเรื่องราวเกี่ยวกับคนอีกสักคนนึงแต่ว่าพอดีไม่มีเวลา. หนูก็เลย คิดไอเดียอันนี้ขึ้นมาว่าจะสัมภาษณ์แค่คำถามเดียวแล้วก็ถามคนเยอะเยอะ. อีกอย่างนึงตอนแรก หนูคิดว่าจะถ่ายรูปแค่เด็กเด็กถามว่าทำไมชอบอยู่ที่นี่. แต่ปรากฏว่าเด็กเล็ก ขี้อายบ้าง, พูดไม่ได้บ้าง, หรือว่าอาจจาไม่รู้เรื่องเท่าไหร่เพราะว่าไม่เคยมีคนถามคำถามนี้ให้กับเขา. หนูก็เลย ถามเจ้าหน้าที่ด้วย. จากเจ้าหน้าที่ครัวถึงคนที่อยู่ IT, จากบ้านใส่รุ้งถึง New Hope, จากกลุ่มบ้านชายถึงเจ้าหน้าที่ CBR, หนูพยามให้ทุกคนตอบคำถามนี้.

บางคนคิดไม่ออก. บางคนดูว่าคนอื่นเขียนอะไรบ้าง. บางคนตอบได้ทันที. แต่ว่ามีคนหลายคนตอบใครคล้ายกันแล้วก็คำตอบของเค้าทำให้หนู มีความสุข. เดี๋ยวหนูให้คุณดูเองว่าคุณคิดอะไรกับคำตอบของเค้า!

Rainbow House – Kids

Rainbow House – Teachers

New Hope – Kids

New Hope – Teachers

Administrative staff

Vision Home

CBR and Miscellaneous

You find that majority of answers are focused on the kids. The love that the staff have for the kids, and their joy in taking part in the opportunities and activities afforded to them by CCD. These answers showed me that here at CCD, people truly come to work because they want to give these children love. And the children are much happier for it too.

As for me?

I like CCD because...
Because the staff and kids gave me love, welcoming me and teaching me many things. Thank you so much to everyone.

Truly, thank you from the bottom of my heart. I really like being here and I’m glad that everyone here likes it too.

Thai Version: ขอบคุณจริงๆจากหัวใจเลยค่ะ. หนูชอบอยู่ที่นี่มากๆแล้วก็ดีใจที่ทุกคนที่นี่ชอบอยู่เหมือนกัน.

[1] Rainbow House is our daycare center for disabled children ranging from 2-18+ years old. Many of the children here are not able to give a response to an unfamiliar question.

[2] New Hope is our daycare center for normally developing children ages 2-7. Since they’re so young, many of the children here also might not be able to give a response to this question.

[3] Vision Home is our group home for older teenage boys in a project to teach them the skills of living independently.

[4] Community based rehabilitation projects (CBR projects) are where CCD identifies at risk families in various communities and helps support them by working with their disabled children and teaching the families how to care for their kids. The goal behind this is to lessen the abandonment of disabled children.

[5] RayRai (the girl depicted) actually does not go to the daycare center anymore since she was deemed able to go to school. However, she still lives as a resident in Rainbow House.

[6] The activity she’s referring to is one where we used tissue paper to make fruit (see The Artists for more details).

[7] The ball house is our soft play room, a room full of “soft” toys, cushions, houses, etc.

[8] Lek (boy depicted) helps to run the Sharing Shop, a convenience store set up by CCD to help some of the older boys get experience managing a shop (customer service, dealing with money, etc.) It is also their new hangout spot.

One thought on “I like being at CCD because…

  1. Pingback: Tom (ต้อม) | Disability narratives

Leave a Reply

